# Science Evaluation Panel (SEP) Meeting 15-18 June 2020 Virtual Meeting

Meeting Roster

Science SubgroupMaria-Angela BassettiCEFREM, Université de PerpignanThorsten BauersachsKiel University	
Thorsten Bauersachs Kiel University	
5	
Melissa Berke University of Notre Dame	
David Boutt University of Massachusetts Amherst	
Julie Bowles University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee	
Adélie Delacour Université Jean Monnet	
Irina Filina University of Nebraska - Lincoln	
Karsten Gohl Alfred Wegener Institute	
Ron Hackney Geoscience Australia	
Morihisa Hamada Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Tec	hnology (JAMSTEC)
Yoshitaka Hashimoto Kochi University	
Yoon-Mi Kim KIGAM	
Hiroko Kitajima Texas A&M University	
Junichiro Kuroda AORI, University of Tokyo	
Mark Leckie University of Massachusetts Amherst	
Jon Lewis Indiana University of Pennsylvania	
Zhonghui Liu University of Hong Kong	
Kenji Matsuzaki University of Tokyo	
Lisa McNeill University of Southampton	
Beth Orcutt Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Science	
Charity Phillips-Lander Southwestern Research Institute	
Dhananjai Pandey National Center for Antarctic and Ocean Researc	ch
Julie Prytulak University of Durham	
Yair Rosenthal Rutgers University	
Reed Scherer Northern Illinois University	
Niall Slowey Texas A&M University	
Susanne Straub Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory - Columbia U	Jniversity
Hiroko Sugioka Kobe University	-
Kazuyo Tachikawa CEREGE, Aix-en-Provence, France	
Hitoshi Tomaru Chiba University	
Paola Vannucchi Royal Holloway University	
Antje Voelker Centro de Ciencias do Mar	
Guoliang Zhang Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sci	iences
Site Subgroup	
Siliva Ceramicola Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica	Sperimentale
Anil Chaubey National Institute of Oceanography - India	
Gail Christeson University of Texas at Austin	
Chris Elders Curtin University	
Jorge Figueiredo Federal University of Rio de Janeiro	
Jianhua Geng Tongji University	
Andrew Goodliffe The University of Alabama	
Shuoshuo Han University of Texas, Institute for Geophysics	

Christian Hübscher	University of Hamburg
Kiichiro Kawamura	Yamaguchi University
Gwang-Soo Lee	KIGAM
Beatrice Magnani	Southern Methodist University
Uisdean Nicholson	Heriot-Watt University
Ross Parnell-Turner	Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD
Patricia Persaud	Louisiana State University
Michele Rebesco	Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica Sperimentale
Tim Reston	University of Birmingham
Michael Riedel	GEOMAR
Tillmann Schwenk	University of Bremen
Eli Silver	University of California Santa Cruz
Zhen Sun	South China Sea Institute of Oceanology
Harold Tobin	University of Washington

# Liaisons and Observers

James Allan	NSF
Peter Blum	JRSO
Carl Brenner	USSSP - LDEO
Laurel Childress	JRSO
Dru Clark	IODP Science Support Office
Sarah Davies	ECORD - ESO
Emily Estes	JRSO
Helen Evans	IODP Science Support Office
Holly Given	IODP Science Support Office
Tobias Hoefig	JRSO
Steve Hovan	NSF
Kevin Johnson	NSF
Barry Katz	EPSP Chair
Dirk Kroon	IODP Forum Chair
Denise Kulhanek	JRSO
Erwan LeBer	ECORD - ESO
Mitch Malone	JRSO
Tony Morris	ESSAC
Clive Neal	JRFB Chair
Chris Olson	IODP Science Support Office
Katerina Petronotis	JRSO
Sanny Saito	MarE3, JAMSTEC
Angela Slagle	USSSP - LDEO
Karen Stocks	IODP Science Support Office
Gabriele Uenzelmann-Neben	ECORD
Trevor Williams	JRSO
Michiko Yamamoto	IODP Science Support Office
Alan Yang	IODP Science Support Office
Carlos Alvarez Zarikian	JRSO

### Unable to attend

Attending as alternate

# Science Evaluation Panel (SEP) Meeting 15-18 June 2020 Virtual Meeting

The June 2020 SEP Meeting was held using a combination of Zoom and Slack

#### Monday

June 15, 2020

10.00-16:20 EDT

#### 1. Welcome and Introductions

### 1.1 Call to order and self-introductions

The co-Chairs Dr. McNeill and Dr. Christeson called the meeting to order with a welcome and asked attendees to perform self-introductions.

### 1.2 Logistical Announcements

Dr. McNeill and Dr. Christeson reviewed the meeting format in Zoom and Slack

# 2. Proposal Review and Advisory Process

### 2.1 Review Procedures

Drs. McNeill and Christeson gave a presentation about the Science Evaluation Panel's proposal review procedures and reminded those in attendance of their requirement to keep proposal content and discussion of all proposals confidential.

### 3. Review of Proposals

#### 3.1 Proposal Reviews

The SEP completed their reviews of proposals 886, 955, 967, 976, 941, and 973.

# 16:20 EDT Meeting Adjourned for the Day

|--|

### 3.1 Proposal Reviews (continued)

The SEP reviewed proposals 979, 985, 994, pre-proposal 981, and APL's 972, 978, 980 and 989.

# 16:00 EDT Meeting Adjourned for the Day

Wednesday

3.1 Proposal Reviews (continued)

The SEP reviewed Pre-proposals 988, 993, 982, 983, 984, 986, 987, 990, 991, and 992

### 15:40 EDT Meeting Adjourned for the Day

10.00-15.40 EDT

June 17, 2020

2020

### 4. Reports from IODP Entities

4. JRFB/JRSO Report
4.2 NSF Report
4.3 MSP/EFB, IO Report
4.4 Chikyu/ CIB, IO Report
4.5 Science Support Office Report
4.6 IODP Forum Report

#### 5. Summary of SEP Reviews

As summarized below, Dr. McNeill and Dr. Christeson reviewed the results and ratings (as necessary) for each of the proposals discussed at this meeting.

ID	Туре	Review Result	PI	Short Title	Ship
886	Full	Deactivate	Tomoaki Morishita	NW Pacific Bend-Fault Hydrology	NR-Chikyu
941	Full2	External review	Yasuhiko Ohara	Godzilla Megamullion Lithosphere Architecture	JR
955	Full	Revise	Julie Huber	Axial Seamount Observatory	JR
967	Full	Revise	Takashi Sano	Ontong Java Nui LIP	JR
972	APL2	Revise	Brandon Dugan	New England Slope Hydrogeology (APL)	JR
973	Full2	External review	Torsten Bickert	NW Africa Neogene Climate	JR
976	Full	Revise	HansChristianLarsen	N Iceland Rift Propagation	JR
978	APL	Deactivate	Joerg Geldmacher	Eirik Drift Basement Magmatism	JR
979	Full	Revise	Wolfram Geissler	Arctic Atlantic Gateway Paleoclimate	JR
980	APL	Revise	Keir Becker	Guatemala Basin Hydrothermal Pits	JR
981	Pre	Deactivate	David De Vleeschouwer	Tasman Leakage History	JR
982	Pre	Deactivate	Bradley Opdyke	Totten Glacier Climate Vulnerability	JR
983	Pre	Full	Thomas Westerhold	Kerguelen Plateau Climate Chronicles	JR
984	Pre	Full	Nathan Bangs	Chile Megathrust	JR
985	Full	Revise	Renata Lucchi	Eastern Fram Strait Paleo Archive	JR
986	Pre	Deactivate	Makoto Otsubo	Okinawa Trough Backarc Opening	JR
987	Pre	Deactivate	Bernard Coakley	Western Arctic Climate and Tectonics	JR
988	Pre	Deactivate	Pedro Terrinha	Atlantic-Margin Subduction Initiation	JR
989	APL	Revise	Susana Lebreiro	Tore Seamount Paleoenvironment	JR
990	Pre	Full	Rie Nakata	Hyuga-Nada Observatory	JR or Chiky
991	Pre	Deactivate	Lindsay Worthington	Queen Charlotte Faults and Fans	JR
992	Pre	Full	Peter Haeussler	Prince William Sound Subduction and Climate	JR
993	Pre	Full	Fabio Caratori Tontini	Havre Trough Backarc Formation	JR
994	Full	Deactivate	Steffen Leth Jørgensen	Arctic Mid-Ocean Ridge Carbon Cycling	JR

#### 6. Co-chief nomination

The Co-Chairs asked the panel for nominations for Co-Chief Scientists for upcoming Expeditions and for external reviewers for several proposals.

#### 7. Schedule of next SEP meeting

The Co-Chairs noted that the next SEP meeting is January 2021 in La Jolla, CA, hosted by the IODP Science Support Office.

### 8. Thank you to members rotating off

- Chris Elders
- Anil Kumar Chaubey
- Kiichiro Kawamura
- Harold Tobin
- David Boutt
- Irina Filina
- Ron Hackney
- Hiroko Kitajima
- Junichiro Kuroda
- Jon Lewis
- Dhananjai Pandey
- Reed Scherer
- Susanne Straub
- Hitoshi Tomaru

# 9. AOB

### 14:00 EDT Meeting Adjourned